Literary Circle #2 If I Stay – Gayle Forman

I. Discussion Director

* Given Mia’s position, would you want to stay or just let go?

If I were Mia, I’d definitely stay. Considering the fact that I still have a choice whether to go on living or leave the earthly life, I think Id very much put an effort or spend time on thinking about the whole thing. Choices are difficult to make especially if it concerns matters that will change the whole course of life. So as for the matter of life and death, I’d prefer to stay with the ones I love who are still alive. I wouldn’t want to be cruel by leaving them on their own (who knows what things they’ll end up thinking about; they might follow you *gasps* ) Yes. Those things are possible. The mere fact that you have a choice, it just means that whatever higher power up there is responsible for your semi-survival, he doesn’t plan to kill you instantly. He wants you to live. You just have to want it too.

* Did you or do you have someone in life (in Mia’s case- Adam) whom you wouldn’t want to leave alone?

Yes. I have a special someone that I still want to take care of till we grow old, aside from my family. And if I were to face the same situation as Mia, I’d still hold on to life. After all, I have promised to stay by that person’s side till the end. I must keep that promise and show everyone that not all promises are meant to be broken. You don’t just throw away God’s given gift to you. You simply just don’t. You’ve got a choice. Give it a thought.

* Which death would you prefer? Instant death or the one somehow suffered by Mia?

Instant. Contrary to what I’ve stated in my first two answers, I personally would like to die on the spot. Suffering is a big no-no for me. Mia had to suffer, physically, mentally, emotionally, as she watched the people she love go on with their life, clinging to the possibility that she’d still live. I want to somehow, spare them the burden of hope. Dying on the spot would give fast closure on the matter. “She died.” End of discussion. I and the people who are bound to care wouldn’t have to suffer that much. Simple as that.

* How would you define living? And can you consider yourself as one given your own definition?

Living is a great word. It doesn’t just mean, breathing. Yes we breathe, but are we really leaving? Given a different light, it would be like the common comparison between living and existing. But as for me, living would be breathing with a purpose. You don’t just sit on one side, and let everything pass. It’s participating in life. It is smiling and crying for whatever shitty reason there is. Living is battling with life and all its crap. I am, for one… can be considered living. I’ve seen lots of people who go on with their life, with no particular enthusiasm. No plans for the future, simply breathing. I know for sure… amidst the apathetic façade I give everyone, the tears and simple genuine smiles are hidden. I bend and break. I’m alive. (*insert dramatic music*)

* Which character in the story that you liked best?

Tough question (*just kidding*). I can surely say I like Mia’s best friend ‘Kim Schein’. She portrays a character of a real best friend. A kind and supportive soul that no matter what happens to you, she’ll always be there. Even if it would mean, dealing with her ‘not that much of a friend’ person, she’d do it as long as it’s healthy for her dearest friend. A rare find. I hope I get to have a friend like Kim. Oops, I think I already have one… an almost ‘kim’ but not really.

Reaction/Evaluation:

Mayshelle Palma, our discussion director here, is quite a comedian..although I’m not even laughing at her jokes,but I do sometimes because of its corniness. Now going back to the questions, she made it easy to comprehend and the questions were also serious in tone. I liked how she made the questions in a friendly manner and the way she answered it was comic and epic. Furthermore, the selection she gave to us is AWESOME. That’s right! In all capslock, awesome, and it’s my first time reading this book so I love the plot and the characters.

II. Literary Luminary

“People believe what they want to believe.” – Kim (Forman, 29)
It is a human nature that people tend to believe on what already buried in their minds.
“I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.” – Mia (Forman, 62)
True. Living is hard. There are circumstances that we face in our life that we are about to give up. And sometimes it crosses our mind to end our life, because we think that ending our life is a way to solve our problems.
“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.” – Denny (Forman, 67)
We tend to make our decision without thinking what will be the outcome. So, we should think over our choices wisely because it will reflect how our life will turn out.
“And I bet she’ll be a stronger person because of what she’s lost today. I have a feeling that once you live through something like this, you become a little bit invincible.” – Mia (Forman, 75)
In our life, there comes to the point when we lost something or someone important. Yes, we will feel sad about it. We will feel down and feel like it is the end of the world. . Everything happens for a reason and only God knows what the purpose why these things happen is. Even if it hurts, we should take things in a positive way. It’ll make us stronger.

Reaction/Evaluation:

Gian Jane Quinones became our literary luminary for the second circle. I would like to comment on how brief her passages are and how she answers it directly with no flowery words in between, but she could have written more of her personal thoughts about the passages. The passages that she gave to us seems to hit everyone who has been living in a life which follows their own philosophy. And I would like to say the passages really reflects different opinions and outlooks toward having to live for a second chance which was what the book tells us.

III. Connector

Well, to be quite honest, not much that I have known is similar to “If I Stay”. The plot is very intriguing as it gives this aura of wonder among readers. I bet everyone, while reading this contemporary novel thought of this kind of incident could really happen (seeing people’s reactions of your death and having a flashback of the significant times when you were still living).
One of the things that I find similar to this story, is another one that my grade school teacher told us about. The details are not so clear to me since it was told more than a decade ago, I think. But what I do remember is that it was about her grandfather having a heart attack and died. Well, “supposedly” died. As the doctors already told her family that this grandfather’s heart was not beating, a miracle happened when only after a few minutes, his grandfather woke up and smiled at everyone. They were joyful of this news of course.  Then, when her grandfather had the chance to recuperate, he shared a story about how he saw God. That God himself asked him if he wanted to continue living or die. His decision’s quite obvious of course, since he woke up, right? So this story, is similar to “If I Stay” in a matter that a person is given the chance to continue or stop living.
One more story, or rather an episode of a cartoon is similar to “If I stay”. This certain episode is from Fairly Odd Parents. Timmy, the main character, wished to see what it would have been like if he wasn’t born. This may sound different with the novel’s plot, but it’s comparable or related to it because Timmy too, had the chance to survey what life is, as a soul out of body.

Reaction/Evaluation:

Benjo Emmanuel Sargado is our connector for the second circle. He must be getting Alzheimer’s because his memory is failing him (just kidding, I hope he doesn’t read this.)  Anyways, the way he connected the story to one episode of his childhood life is quite interesting although he doesn’t believe that one would see his/her body in a dead state (me too, as well.) He did creatively connected it with the story of his teacher in grade school. Also, when he connected it to an episode on Nickelodeon’s famous cartoon ‘The Fairly Oddparents’, reminded me of that moment when Timmy realized that he doesn’t want to die yet, so he escaped from Jorgin’s hands.

IV. Character Captain

Mia Hall

The protagonist of the story is a calm, quiet, kind, smart and musically-gifted girl who loves her family, her cello and her boyfriend above all else. Playing the cello is one of the most important thing in Mia’s life. Despite her love for her family and her boyfriend, she struggles to get along with them because of their lack of similarities. Her family and boyfriend have a passion rock and roll music so much unlike her who is into classical ones. That made her feel the unbelongingness and out of place. Mia is different from the rock scene she is surrounded with. She says in the book, she never felt like she was a part of the family. Yes, Mia is different. But yet again, she is the same as her family in a sense. Like Patricia said, she tried to quit playing the cello so she could be like everyone else. Mia knew she was different. Part of her liked it, part of her didn’t. In the book If I Stay by Gayle Forman, Mia’s personality is much like her interest in Classical Music. Classical music is very calm and deep, much like Mia. Mia is too calm about her recent family tragedy. She is extra calm about having to choose about dying. It’s almost like she doesn’t mind dying. “Besides, I still have no clue how I would determine to stay or not in the first place” (120). Mia is actually mellow enough to think about her decision of living or not. Also, classical music is a very different style of music that most people don’t enjoy listening to. Guessing by the text, Mia is a very “different” person. She is different from her family and has different interests that everyone in her family. “I figured that if I laid off gradually, by the time I entered high school in the fall, I could start fresh, no longer be known as “the cellist”” (126). Mia tried to quit playing the cello so she wouldn’t be so different and fit in with everyone else.

Adam Wilde

He is the one who had won the heart of our protagonist. He’s the handsome guitarist as well as the vocalist under his band called, “Shooting Star”. He likes punk music and wears black converse, music tees, and pegged jeans. He liked Mia for the way she is, and didn’t change because of her. Another way Adam’s preferred music choice reflects his personality is how he expresses himself. People who like punk music generally express themselves with a particular style related to punk music. Punk music is about expression and Adam expresses himself through the clothes he wears. “He’s such the cool guy with his pegged jeans and black low-tops, his effortlessly beat-up punk-rock tees and his subtle tattoos” (Forman 10).

Kim Schein

She is the protagonist’s bestfriend. They are said to be very alike and perceived as dark and studious. She is sarcastic and obedient to her emotional mother. Kim and Mia are inseparable. They always stick with each other. Even though she does not really like her bestfriend’s boyfriend, she still helped him when it comes to Mia.

Teddy Hall

He is the protagonist’s little brother. He and Mia are very close. We can say that with the treatment she gives him. She is very fond of Teddy and treats him like his own child. She worries about Teddy the most.

Kat Hall

The protagonist’s punk mother. She is very protective and fierce when it comes to her family. At first, she did not approve of Mia’s choice of music, but in the end, she learned to accept it as part of her daughter’s life. In the book If I Stay by Gayle Forman, she is indirectly described as “tough as nails, tender as kittens, feminist bitch” (151). It’s very stereotypical if I may say. When she was younger, you could visibly see the kind of music she enjoyed as she wore her pixie cut, band shirts, snake skin pants and combat boots proudly. She married a drummer and even wore those boots to her wedding. At the birth of her first son, the nurses referred to the music by Enya, which is a more soothing tone to help calm the patient. However, the mother reacts “Fuck Enya! Melvins. Earth. Now!”(154) as Forman writes. Mia’s mother finds loud heavy guitar riffs more easing than something calm. Finding rock soothing over Enya truly shows the power of rock in her soul.

Denny Hall

He is the protagonist’s father. He is quite rebellious but is also mature with his actions. He gave up his band in order to go teaching. He is a good father and a good husband who is hesitant to admin that he still likes the thought of having a band.

Reaction/Evaluation:

Shiele Mae Gumanoy gave a good definition of the characters in the story. That was what the major characters attitude in the story. Most of the characters are music lovers and are very passionate about their music, and Shiele did a great job with the characterization, although she could have added more information to Kim Schein. She forgot that Kim was a Jewish and was only allowed to date Jewish guys. But, oh well, she did characterize Mia greatly since she is the main character in the story.

V. Artful Artist

968914_625849624106971_1554586286_n

I drew this cello because it’s a big part of Mia’s life. She loved playing the cello and after that big accident were her family died made her realize the importance of having second chances. She was a big part of Adam’s life, as well, since she was the one he truly loved.

In the drawing you can see the words; ‘If I stay. If I live. It’s up to me’. I’d say it really was up to her if she wanted to live or not. I wanted to emphasize those pair of angel wings on the right side as for me it symbolizes Mia when she was apart from her body and how she became like a guardian angel to her own body.

I must say, I had difficulty making that cello. It was hard like stone! But I managed to pull it off. If you liked the drawing…please, write me a comment below. I’d appreciate it if you do.

What about you? Would you stay or would you want to go? Its your choice. You are given a free will so use it wisely and enjoy what you love to do. Be with your friends. Spend time with them. Don’t forget that you have people who’re worried about you, so don’t forget that. Okay?

VI. Vocabulary Enhancer

1. guffaw [guh-faw, guh-] page 7 and page 60

-a burst of loud laughter (noun)

-to laugh loudly (verb)

The men in front guffaw at the speaker’s remark on the recent issue of ‘Spazz Magazine’.

2. boon page 9

-benefit (noun)

-a timely benefit: Blessing (noun)

The couple’s donation on the charity is a great boon for the orphans’ project.

3. cajole page 10 and 38

– to coax (verb; used with or without object)

Shiele manage to cajole Renalyne into buying gifts for her special friend, Jason.

4. eviscerate [ih-vis-uh-reyt] page 11

-to remove the entrails of (verb)

-to deprive of vital parts (verb)

The scientists would eviscerate the body of the dead frog as part of their experiment on animals.

5. aria [ahr-ee-uh] page 11

-operatic solo (noun)

-nymph, the mother of Miletus, by Apollo (noun Class, Myth)

The lady in red is given an opportunity to sing an aria in the upcoming festival.

6. ablutions [uh-bloo-shuhnz] page 12

-cleansing with water or other liquid, esp. as a religious ritual (noun)

-the liquid thus used (noun)

-washing of the hands, body, etc. (noun)

The nurses who were performing frantic ablutions over the victim’s body went pale when they heard a beeping sound.

7. bequeath [bih-kweeth, -kweeth] page 13

-to give (property or money) in a will (verb)

-to hand down (verb)

The old man bequeathed his collection of antique coins to the museum.

8. verve [vurv] page 14

-archaic: special ability or talent (noun)

The national player played with determination and verve.

9. muck [muhk] page 14

-dirt or mud (noun)

-to do something badly or with many mistakes

The children made a muck of things throughout their performance.

10. sallow [sal-oh] page 62

-having a sickly complexion (adjective)

Though he has undergone a thorough operation, he still looked a bit sallow.

11. blurb [blurb] page 8

-brief advertisement (noun)

I checked out the flier and my eyes went big when I saw a small blurb about the upcoming concert of the K-pop stars her in our country.

12. conniption page 75

-a fit of rage, hysteria, or alarm (noun)

Shiele went in conniption when she found that I and his brother, Kai, was dating.

Reaction/Evaluation:

This was Renalyne Baylas’s work. She is our vocabulary enhancer for today. She gave a lot of words her. Phew. She did a great job in giving examples to every word. Some were new to me. And it’s quite funny how she used her favorite k-pop star as an example. She did an excellent job in enlightening us with those confusing words. Thanks, ren-ren! That was a blurb for Renalyne’s nickname. Cute, isn’t it?

As for this month’s circle, even if we were kinda busy but we still had time to discuss about this book. It’s such a romantic book compared to our first one. Bu then every book has its own spark and this book definitely left a spark in my heart. And I can’t wait for the next book. \O/ I would like to dedicate this victory dance because I finished the blog just in time! Yayy! VICTORY DANCE!!!!! WOOT WOOOT!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AIRQZAgtaE

Leave a comment